Danvers – Light Movements


Light Movements
The Flex
SKU: COOP006 Categories: ,


As we head towards the end of 2019, the CoOp Presents crew unleash a heater for the cold months, and a very warm welcome to the label for Danvers, with an EP entitled ?Light Movements?.

Joe Danvers has been building a diverse catalogue of dance music over the past several years, including releases on FINA Records, Boogie Cafe and Wotnot (his debut release also featured mixes from the likes of Joe Armon-Jones & Warren Xcince). Aside from his solo efforts, Danvers makes up 50% of Kassian, who in turn have dropped releases on Phonica White & Heist Recordings, as well as a series of highly-acclaimed remixes. Their debut track ?The Premise? was nominated as ?Track of the Year? at Gilles Peterson?s Worldwide Awards.

These various projects have been shown support far and wide from selectors such as Bradley Zero and Detroit Swindle, whilst Danvers & Kassian have been booked for parties across Europe this past Summer. Danvers is also co-founder of Curve Records, along with Luke Campion & Mike Wilkin of Fact / Vinyl Factory.

So to the EP – 4-tracks demonstrating Danvers' flair for eclectic bruk boogie. ?Devotional? kicks off the set, featuring the soulful vocals of Natalie May atop a rhode-laden bubbler. The EP?s title track ?Light Movements? follows and is a more stripped-down affair, with big kicks and synth stabs. Next comes ?The Flex?, inspired by Selectors Assemble runnings – a tasty stepper with a huuuuge b-line. Finally closing out the EP on a deeper jazzy vibe we have ?Calmer? featuring the don T. Williams.

Expect more big things from Danvers and from the CoOp Presents crew in 2020. In the meantime, get this one on your speakers and watch for the movements. Standardly essential business.

Vinyl & Digital released worldwide on November 15th 2019.