Daylight / Everybody Loves The Sunshine – RAMP


A1: Daylight
B1: Everybody Loves The Sunshine
SKU: SSS701 Category:

Track listing

[sonaar_audioplayer artwork_id=”″ feed=” ||″ feed_title=”A1: Daylight || B1: Everybody Loves The Sunshine ” hide_artwork=”true” show_playlist=”true” show_track_market=”false” show_track_market=”false” hide_timeline=”true” scrollbar=”false” shuffle=”false” sticky_player=”true”][/sonaar_audioplayer]


Two stone cold classics right here from the Roy Ayers masterminded RAMP, taken from the holy grail album Come Into Knowledge. Sampled the world over, influentially positive and as prized as they get, South Street?s new sub-label South Street Soul couldn?t have picked a more perfect double header to reissue as their inaugural release.

Although the RAMP acronym Roy Ayers Music Productions bared Ayers? name, he did not perform with the Ohio band instead writing, arranging and producing the tracks alongside Edwin Birdsong and also William Allen. Drafting in some of the best session musicians in the game, from vocalists Sibel Thrasher and Sharon Matthews, The Spinners drummer John Manuel, guitarist Landy Shores and Cincinnati bass maestro Nate White, the result was pure ethereal excellence.

Rare groove at its finest ?Daylight? is one of the standout cuts from RAMP?s only album – soulful, sumptuous and laced with a celestial touch that takes this track to another realm of conscious. A track that was famously sampled by A Tribe Called Quest for their hit ?Bonita Applebum? and J Dilla?s remix of Common ? Come Close.

On the B side, a Roy Ayer?s masterpiece given the RAMP revamp, an end of the night masterpiece, a hazed-out dreamer – just downright blissful grooves from start to finish. Ready-made to ride out into the sunset with.