Motor City Booty – Amp Fiddler


A1: Return Of The Ghetto Fly Feat Nico Redd
A2: Superficial
A3: Slippin' On Ya Pimpin' Feat Dames Brown
B1: I Got It Feat Alena
B2: Soul Fly (Part 1) feat Dames Brown
B3: Soul Fly (Part 2) feat Dames Brown
C1: 1960 What? Feat London House Cats Choir
C2: Steppin' Feat Dames Brown
C3: Your Love Is All I Need
D1: Funk Is Here To Stay
D2: Send A Message To Me
D3: Superficial (Live version)
SKU: SOUTHLP001Y Category:

Track listing


South Street delve into the The Sound Of Detroit from one of its unsung heroes, reissuing Amp Fiddler’s ‘Motor City Booty’ LP on Yellow & Blue vinyl respectively. Coming straight off the D Funk assembly line, it’s a full on dance floor affair from Motown to P-Funk, Techno and Neo Soul.

This 12 track album produced by Amp Fiddler & Yam Who? includes the massive ‘Soul Fly’ sounding like a Mark Ronson production had he been hanging out with George Clinton’s Parlet followed by the bonafide P-Funk anthem ‘Steppin’ both featuring the stunning vocals by the Dames Brown girls.

Amp Fiddler is credited for taking both a young J Dilla and also Q-Tip under his wing teaching them his Akai MPC techniques, setting the path for some of Hip Hop’s finest recordings which have defined the shape of things to come.

His musical collaborations & current duties include: Moodymann’s musical maestro, keyboard wizard for Theo Parrish’s live band, a longstanding Funkadelic member, co-writer for Sly & Robbie, Prince, Maxwell, Jamiroquai & Seal to name a few.