Pleasure Centre Remixed Vol.2 (Picture Disc) – Kraak & Smaak
17 Credits Select options

Pleasure Centre Remixed Vol.2 (Picture Disc) – Kraak & Smaak

Pleasure Centre Remixed Vol.2 (Picture Disc) – Kraak & Smaak

Get a Casavinyl monthly subscription and get this record from only £14.24 - click here for more details.

Read our review at

Track listing

Pleasure Centre Remixed Vol.2 (Picture Disc) - Kraak & Smaak

Over one year on from its initial release, Kraak & Smaak’s latest LP PLEASURE CENTRE eventually gets the remix treatment. For the occasion, Boogie Angst’s chief trio has gathered a cast of collaborators new and old and invited them to add their own distinctive spin to the album’s fifteen tracks. The result runs up to twenty-seven cuts split over two parts and features a hefty batch of unreleased, in addition to a solid base of remixes previously released throughout 2020.
Lead-track TWILIGHT sees double with a pair of reworks courtesy of Belgian vibist and Eskimo mainstay Aeroplane, and label habitué Titeknots. Whilst the first’s version harnesses a carefree storm of disco buoyancy aimed at clearing the sky from all cloudy presence, the latter opts for a more subdued, velveteen rendition, sure to drape the dancefloor in warmer shades and folds.
Meanwhile, DWTTBO, is here presented in three variants; one from Jean Tonique, taking us on a slo-scudding, folk-informed ride, the second from Knight One, dishing out a precious slice of 80s-nostalgic arcade RnB, complete with 8-bit-friendly melodies and soulful vox, and the last one courtesy of Saison, developing the original into a mischievously arranged and thoroughly funky filtered-house brainwasher.
A cathartic, trip-hop-infused ballad, Kerem Akdag’s exclusive revamp of SOUL LIBERATOR cuts a path of rhythmic devotion and contained suavity, whilst Georges’ remix of NAKED eases us in a playful maelstrom of octave-shifting chords and sun- streaked piano stabs, which the Stripped rework (exclusive) achieves taking to full-out dancefloor functionality with relentless drive, whilst 24 Carrot’s production unit Fouk alter the base mix’s accordingly to their own playfully bumpy sound grammar.
Going full-scope, Turbotito’s extended version of PLEASURE CENTRE blends in Middle- Eastern tropes with nu-age disco accents, eventually hatching into a full-fledged acid roller. Adding his ever-delicate production touch to the original dreaminess of SOMMERON, Satin Jackets entices the listener in a laid-back, nerve-soothing organic environment, whilst label staple Feiertag drowns the track in multiple layers of FX to weave a wholly new but consistently floor-ready narrative.
Up with a disco spaceship-ready rework of SWEET TIME, French producer Yuksek casts his net in classic late 70s-early 80s vaults to deliver a space-op kind of tune Cerrone wouldn’t disown. Former The Moreau’s member Rodney Hunter tackles IN PLAIN SIGHT with an equally true-school disco house approach, full to the brim with funk-oozing slap and string-laden momentums. Taking on SAY THE WORD are UK house vet Atjazz and Heist affiliate Makèz (whose debut album is underway, this one’s an exclusive), respectively rendering a tear-jerking downtempo ballad and more muscular workout blended in with balearic guitars and feverish congas.
Entrusted to True Romance boss Tensnake and Norwegian master / Full Pupp main operator Prins Thomas, it’s safe to say SAME BLOOD was in absolute safe hands from the start. Emphasizing on different aspects of the track, Tensnake amping up the tempo and exploiting the original’s club-readiness to the maximum, whilst Prins Thomas stresses on the in-betweens to form one of his trademark spaced-out, wonkily groovy hybrids.
Laying optimal focus on the rhythmic side of things, Fatnotronic & Emmo’s reshape of ECHO PARK (exclusive) fuses sequences of touching melancholia, forcefully offset by the pair’s natural attraction for intricate drum programming. Revolving around Gavin Turek’s nonpareil vocal assets, OUT IN THE DAYLIGHT (exclusive) as remixed by Nicolaas clearly sets its sights on classic upbeat 80s pop a la Cindy Lauper, whilst I THINK (exclusive), rebuilt by FSQ in true ‘Funkadelic’ fashion cranks up the funkiness levels a notch further.
Handed to up-and-coming Berlin via Warsaw-based duo Casiopepe, 24HR FLING (exclusive) gets all turned inside-out thanks to the pair’s own-admitted “no-nonsense molecular approach to nostalgic flavours”, and OPOLOPO’s own signature sliced-and- diced, multi-directional funk blends, unloading clip after clip of intricately woven rhythmic patterns and sample-heavy head spinning. Rounding off the package are three digital exclusive instrumentals of Tensnake, Yuksek, Atjazz and Rodney Hunter’s remixes to draw out the pleasure.
Pleasure Centre Remixed will be released 05.03.21 on all digital formats via Boogie Angst. The limited vinyl picture disc remix sampler Vol.2 will be released around the same time.

More Like Pleasure Centre Remixed Vol.2 (Picture Disc) - Kraak & Smaak

Additional information

Payment Method

Casavinyl Credits, Credit/Debit Card