Various Artists – Ateneum 2019


Mystery Room Nr. 6
SKU: WJLP19 Categories: ,


Helsinki's We Jazz Records presents "Ateneum 2019", part 2 of their ongoing "We Jazz Live Plates" series documenting the label's live activity. Recorded at the historic Ateneum Art Museum in Helsinki during spring 2019, the intense live compilation brings together three acts on the label's roster: Timo Lassy & Teppo M?kynen, OK:KO and Alder Ego, each performing two tracks here.
OK:KO opens proceedings with their sound electrified by Toomas Keski-S?ntti changing from piano to Fender rhodes, a little touch that opens up new avenues in their sound. The band who made a big splash with their 2019 debut album "Syrtti", present energetic new versions of the title track and the looping "Piik". Alder Ego, led by drummer Joonas Lepp?nen, shifts gears with a new deep version of their 2018 album track "Cubism", and add a new track "Mystery Room Nr. 6" into the mix. Timo Lassy & Teppo M?kynen strecth out their compact tracks "Fallow" and "Goldenrod", which grow into new lenght and depth in the live setting.
"Ateneum 2019" released together with "Lonna 2019", We Jazz Live Plates vol. 3, is an inspiring example of the active and high quality jazz scene in Helsinki.